RM Williams Publishing

Featuring music for Horn and Horn in chamber music



for horn and piano


About the Work

In the Winter of 1996, Matthew Fossa, then an oboe performance major at the Crane School of Music, began working on a piece to be dedicated to his friend and fraternity brother, Scott Bacon. It was meant to be the first movement of a full concerto for horn; however, upon completing what would have been the last movement, it was found that the piece did very well by itself. What was going to be called a Concerto for Horn became a Concertpiece for Horn. The work was premiered on March 22nd, 1998 at the Phi Mu Alpha Sinfonia recital held at the Crane School and conducted by the composer. Concertpiece is also available for Horn and Orchestra.

About the Composer

Matthew Fossa, a native of Schenectady, New York, began studying music at the age of 5. He studied the piano and the saxophone and then, at age 13, switched to oboe. He has served as soloist with the Crane Symphony Orchestra.

Mr. Fossa has performed as a member several orchestras including the SUNY Albany Orchestra, The Music Company Orchestra, the Saint Lawrence University Chorus Orchestra, the Potsdam Chamber Players, and the Orchestra of Northern New York.

Mr. Fossa recieved his Bachelor’s Degree in Music Performance and the Performer’s Certificate from the Crane School of Music in May of 1998. He is currently studying for a Master’s Degree in Oboe Performance at the Florida State University. His composition has, to this day, remained strictly a hobby, though he has studied with composers David Heinich and Paul Steinberg. He has composed numerous works, including pieces for oboe, English horn, trumpet, horn and violin.